skip navigation

Amateur Hockey Association Illinois, Inc. (AHAI)

AHAI News & Newsletter

USA Hockey Registration

AHAI Guide

USAH Guide

USAH Rulebook

Illinois Hockey Officials

Ice for Sale


Photos by Sully

Feed for

Amateur Hockey Association of Illinois (AHAI) Statement Regarding Reporting by The Athletic

February 25, 2020
For Immediate Release

AHAI strongly condemns the alleged sexual misconduct in the hockey community, dating to the 1980s, as reported by The Athletic. Promptly after receiving notification of allegations of misconduct, AHAI indefinitely suspended Thomas Adrahtas on March 1, 2010, pending a hearing. No hearing ever occurred because Adrahtas resigned from all AHAI affiliate positions, leaving his suspension in effect to this day.

Our current policies, as well as those of USA Hockey, regarding sexual and physical abuse and screening express zero tolerance for any conduct that poses a risk to the health, safety, and well-being of any of our players and participants. There can be no doubt that our board and leadership, in 2020, is fully committed to strict adherence to these policies. Nothing is more important than providing a safe environment that allows players to compete, develop their skills, and reach their full potential free of any sexual, physical, or emotional trauma.

While we continue to review available information concerning the published allegations, and as we evaluate the feasibility of further appropriate action, AHAI fully supports the investigation that was undertaken by SafeSport, as well as its mission to do everything reasonably possible to end such abuse in sport.

Media contact:
Randall Samborn 312-343-1142

Blackhawk Alumni Announce 2020 Scholarship Recipients!

Congratulations go out to Andrew Capuano of St. Rita High School, Olivia Turman of Lake Park High School and Evan Wurzbacher of John Hersey High School on being named the recipients of the 2020 Blackhawk Alumni Association Scholarship.

The Blackhawk Alumni Association (BHAA) distributes college scholarships annually to the three most deserving high school hockey players in Illinois. Awards are determined from a candidate's level of community service, volunteerism, good citizenship, academic performance as well as the hockey talent of the individual who receives an annual $7,000.00 scholarship over four years.

These players will be honored at the Blackhawk Alumni Scholarship Luncheon on Monday, March 9, 2020 at the United Center in Chicago, Illinois. All of us here in Illinois are proud of their accomplishments in the classroom, in the community and on the ice.

This year’s America’s Showcase tryout teams represented a wealth of talent, making it extremely difficult to choose players for the final 2020 America’s High School Showcase Illinois Team roster. Congratulations to the following 20 players on their selection to represent Illinois at the America’s Showcase at the Centene Community Ice Center in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16-20, 2020. Click HERE to download and/or print roster.


This year’s Illinois Showcase Team will also be competing in front of NAHL and NA3HL Scouts at the NAPHL Prep Invitational Showcase March 27-29, at The Edge Ice Arena in Bensenville, Illinois. The NAPHL Prep Invitational Tournament will be played in cooperation with the NA3HL’s Fraser Cup Championship, which annually awards the NA3HL’s National Playoff Champion. It will also be played in cooperation with the first NAHL Combine of the 2020 season, which is for 16U and 14U players. In total, over 400 hockey players will be playing in one of three events during the 3-4 days.

Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame Inducts Twelve New Members into the Class of 2019!

A record number of people were present as the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame (IHHF) recently inducted its 15th class of inductees into its Hall of Fame. The inductees who were honored on Sunday, January 26, 2020, at the Belvedere Banquet Hall in Elk Grove were (pictured above from top left) Steve Drews, John Conenna, Don Granato (Tony Granato pictured), Tim Gabel, Kenny McCudden, Tim Stapleton, Randy Krawiec, Jim Friberg, Lynne Bournazos, Chuck Linkenheld, Rich Jecmen and Sylvain Turcotte.
Illinois hockey has a very long and rich hockey history, due in large part, to the foundation laid down by these inductees, as well as their tireless dedication in making sure every individual who had a desire to participate in this great sport has had the opportunity to do so.
The mission statement of the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame is as follows: “To honor the excellence of those individuals who, through their exceptional endeavors both on and off the ice, have contributed in an extraordinary way to enhance the sport and image of hockey in Illinois.”
Click HERE to learn more about the long hockey history each of these individuals has contributed to Illinois hockey.
On behalf of everyone involved in the game of hockey, we admire and thank each of the inductees into the Illinois Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2019. They truly are in a class all their own!

Photos By Sully: 2020 Illinois State Hockey Championships Action Photo Disc Information

Don't miss out on an exciting opportunity to take home an action photo disc of your championship game taken by official AHAI photographer, Photos by Sully. The action photo disc includes all the action shots of the game, all of the team and individuals receiving awards as well as the banner after the game. Pre-orders are now being taken. The action photo disc will be available after your game. The action photo disc price is $300; for an additional $25 Photos by Sully will burn up to 19 additional copies which will be mailed out by the Tuesday following the State Tournament. Please note that NO action shots will be taken during your game unless the action photo disc is purchased. Team managers click HERE to download the pre-order form. Questions? Email info@photosbysully.comFRIENDLY REMINDER: No one will be allowed on the ice at any time to take photos!

2020 AHAI Tier I Boys & Girls Illinois State Hockey Championship Schedule Announced

The 2020 AHAI Tier I Boys & Girls Illinois State Hockey Championship Schedules have been announced. Please click HERE to download/print schedules. Good luck, Teams!

Men’s & Women’s 2020 AHAI Adult State Championship Tournament

The Amateur Hockey Association Illinois, Inc. is proud to present the 2020 AHAI Adult State Championship Tournament hosted by the AHAI Adult Committee and The Edge Ice Arena. The Adult State Tournament will take place April 23 – April 26, 2020 with all Championship Games taking place on Sunday, April 26, 2020 at The Edge. For more information and/or registration click HERE or contact Robert Fiorio, Tournament Director at

AHAI Suspension Review Process

AHAI SUSPENSION REVIEW will not take complaints from parents, players, coaches or anyone other than the club presidents. If a party thinks they were wronged in some way on the ice, the complaint MUST be submitted to the club president. If he or she reviews the matter and feels it needs to be addressed by SUSPENSION REVIEW, then they should present it to the Chair, Kevin Bolger.

IL State Championship

AHAI Concussion Testing

ADM Initiative

Follow Us

Blackhawks Website

Feed for

Feed for